The Auroville Foundation Act created a separate legal entity, the Auroville Foundation, with three authorities: the Governing Board, the International Advisory Council and the Residents Assembly.

The Governing Board has overall responsibility for the ongoing development of Auroville in keeping with its aims and ideals. It is composed of a number of eminent individuals, mostly Indian nationals, as well as ex-officio Indian Government officers.

The International Advisory Council has the function of advising the Governing Board on matters relating to management and development of the township. It is normally composed of five outstanding individuals of high international repute, usually from different nations.

The Residents Assembly comprises all residents of Auroville on the Master
List over the age of 18. This body monitors the various activities of Auroville, decides on the terms of its membership, and is responsible for evolving and implementing a Master Plan for Auroville’s future development in consultation with the Governing Board. It selects a Working Committee as interface with the Governing Board, the Secretary, and the other groups of collective service to Auroville.

There is also a Secretary to the Foundation, appointed by the Government of India, who resides and has an office with supporting staff in Auroville.
Structure of the units of the Auroville Foundation

The Auroville Foundation consists of research, educational, service and commercial units dedicated to the promotion of the ideals of Auroville and of units dedicated to the uplifting of the population living in the villages surrounding Auroville.

The Auroville Foundation has separated these activities. All commercial activities are carried out in business trusts. The service units are integral parts of the Auroville Foundation. The units dedicated to village work are also organised in separate trusts. These trusts are recognised as non-governmental organisations.